Home · How To's · Nail Care · Seasonal Trends

Nail Care Routine: Fall 2015

I’ve been obsessed with nail care for over 7 years now. I’ve come to test many products and now know what works for me and what doesn’t. Here’s an updated post on what I use to take care of my nails. 

Right now, I’m in the phase of taking care of my natural nails and letting them create and soak up all the good oils I put onto them. Last month, I tried two sets of fake press on nails from Walgreens and they really took a toll on my nails. All because I was too impatient to let them grow out on their own. I recommend getting gel extensions (which I’ll let you know how get it at home soon) or just letting them naturally grow out. No need for press on nails that have harsh glues. Now onto what use on a regular basis.

Nail Polish Removal:

IMG_8783

I uses the Target Up&Up Acetone nail polish removal because it gets the job done quickly. I understand that it dries my nails and skin, but I immediately wash my hands after I use this and soak them in oils.

Oils & Moisturizers:

IMG_8818

Ahhhh, my favorite part. Seeing my nails so moisturized and healthy. I use plenty of oils, not just the ones above. CND Solar Oil smells heavenly. Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil smells fresh. But make sure to also take care of your hands as well. Always use a hand cream and exfoliate every once in a while to keep them smooth. It also helps with adding moisture into the skin. My favorite scrub is the one pictured, the CND Almond Moisture Scrub. But I also use natural oils, like coconut and olive oil whenever I come across them in my daily activities. You can also make a scrub with those oils by just adding some sugar. Definitely don’t have to spend extra $$ to keep your nails and hands healthy.

To-Go Cuticle Care:

IMG_2375

I like to keep this little tin of Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cream in my purse for moisturizing my cuticles while I’m out, such as in university or work. Great staple to have.

Nail File:

IMG_8802

I use the Nail Tek Crystal File because of how gentle it is on the nails. It is great quality and doesn’t tear up the nails as it file like other ones do. It greatly helps your nails growing out quicker since it minimizes the chances of the nails tearing or breaking. Great investment to make.

Cuticle Removers:

IMG_8822

Some times, cuticles can get to big, to the point where they can be trimmed down. I use a cuticle pusher and cuticle nippers that I bought from Marshall’s. They are a great place to check for nail polish and nail tools at an affordable price. The cuticle remover is cult favorite, by Sally Hansen.

Nail Buffers:

IMG_8796

Buffing your nails is a great thing to do everyone in a while to smooth out your nail and get it prepped for polish since it removes ridges and little tears in the nail. This particular one from OPI also shines the nails (white side). The Red Carpet Manicure Nail Buffer is a little coarser than the OPI Brilliance Block but is still good to use for nails that haven’t been buffed in a while.

***************************************************************************************

Alright, thanks for checking out my nail care staples.

I’d love to hear what you have in yours!

Love, Lara ❤

Leave a Reply

